Check Sync & Backup
Check Sync & Backup enables businesses with an active internet connection to sync open checks between registers and to securely back up checks, even if using a single device. With this feature, checks started at one register can be viewed, modified, and finished on another, allowing flexibility to manage orders from any available device. When adding or replacing a register, backed-up checks will be available immediately.
This feature is only available for the ShopKeep Register on The Mini and The Station. To sync saved sales between registers on the ShopKeep Register for iOS, enable Serverless Sync™.
Table of Contents
Check Sync & Backup Basics
Here is some basic information about how the Check Sync & Backup feature works.
Best Practices for Check Sync & Backup
For Check Sync & Backup to work most effectively, follow the best practices for using this feature.
Check Sync & Backup Settings
While it is recommended to keep Check Sync & Backup enabled, if you plan to continuously operate a register without internet, disable Check Sync & Backup on that register to avoid recurring offline warning messages. If disabled, Check Sync & Backup can easily be turned back on.
Disabling Check Sync & Backup on a register will immediately sync its checks to other registers with the feature enabled, then remove them from the disabled register. After the feature is disabled, checks created at that register will no longer be backed up or synced to other registers.
- Sign into the register as a manager.
- On the register menu, tap ‘Settings’.
- Toggle the switch next to ‘Check Sync & Backup’.
- Review the warning, then click ‘Continue’ to disable the feature on this register.
- (Optional) Repeat steps 1 - 4 to disable the feature on other offline registers.
Check Sync & Backup will remain enabled on other registers until these steps are repeated.
- To re-enable Check Sync & Backup, perform steps 1 - 3 on a register where it is disabled.