Auto Signout

With auto signout, employees can be automatically signed out of the register after every transaction is tendered, every check is saved, or after a preset amount of time to protect the register from unauthorized use.

Table of Contents

Auto Signout for iOS

For the ShopKeep Register on iOS, follow the steps below to enable transaction and/or timed auto signout.

Transaction Auto Signout

Turn on transaction auto signout for the ShopKeep Register on iOS to sign employees out of the register after every transaction. When enabled, this applies to all of your store’s registers.

  1. In BackOffice, click 'Settings' and select 'General'.
  2. Under 'Auto Signout', check the 'Enable' box.
    Click to Enlarge
  3. Click 'Save'.
  4. Sign into the ShopKeep app as a manager, open the Control Panel and tap 'Get Updates'.

    If you receive an error while getting updates, visit our troubleshooting guide for help.

    Click to Enlarge
  5. If you have multiple registers, repeat step 4 on each additional iPad.

Timed Auto Signout

Turn on timed auto signout for the ShopKeep Register on iOS to sign employees out of the register after they are idle for a period of time. This feature can be enabled independently for each register.

  1. On your iPad, open the Settings app.
  2. Scroll down the menu on the left side and tap 'ShopKeep'.
    Click to Enlarge
  3. Toggle on 'Auto Sign Out User'.
  4. Tap 'Auto Sign Out After' and choose how long employees must be idle before they are signed out.

    Visit the iPad Settings for ShopKeep article to learn about the other settings in this section.

    Click to Enlarge
  5. If you have multiple registers, repeat steps 1 - 5 on each additional iPad.

Timed auto signout takes effect the next time an employee signs into the register.

Auto Signout for Clover

For the ShopKeep Register on Clover, follow the steps below to enable transaction, check, and/or timed auto signout. These settings can be enabled independently for each register.

  1. Sign into the register as a manager and tap ‘Settings’.
    Click to Enlarge
  2. Enable auto signout settings as desired.
    Click to Enlarge

    Auto sign out after transaction | When on, employees will be automatically signed out of the register after every transaction they complete.
    Auto sign out after check save | When on, employees will be automatically signed out of the register after every check they save.
    Auto sign out after idle time | When on, employees will be automatically signed out of the register after being idle for a set amount of time. When signed out, items left on the Transaction screen will be saved as an open check. Unsaved changes to existing checks will also be saved.


  • Help us improve ShopKeep Support. Was this article helpful?
  • YES   NO