The images and steps in this article use the latest ShopKeep Register for iOS v4.0.0 and above. If a different register version appears on your iPad, please follow the instructions in our Open Checks article.
Visit our ShopKeep iOS Register Updates 2019 article for more information on the latest features included in 4.0.0 and how to update your registers.

Stay tuned as we slowly roll out this new experience for everyone.

Saved Sales

Save a sale to start a check or tab that will remain open until a customer is done ordering. A saved sale can be modified to continue the order and closed when the customer is ready to pay. Run a Register Shift Report to see the total number and value of sales currently saved on the register.

Prior to version 4.0.0 of the iOS ShopKeep Register app, saved sales were called ‘checks’ or ‘open checks’.

Table of Contents

Save a Sale

Saving a sale suspends the transaction until the customer is done ordering and is ready to pay.

  1. Open the New Sale screen.
    • If starting from the Saved Sales screen, tap the ‘+’ to get to the New Sale screen.
    • If starting from the Tables screen, tap an empty table to get to the New Sale screen.
  2. If Guest Count is enabled, enter the number of guests for the sale.
    a If prompted with a keypad, enter the guest count and tap ‘Done’.
    Use ‘None’ to record 0 guests when the exact count is unknown, such as with to-go or phone orders.
    b If not prompted, tap the Guests icon to enter the guest count.
    Learn how to enable the Guest Count prompt here.
  3. Add some items to the sale and tap the disk icon to save.

    Don’t see the disk icon? Tap ‘Save’.

    Click to Enlarge
  4. (Optional) Enter a new name for the saved sale. If using the iDynamo, swipe a credit card to automatically assign the cardholder's name to the sale.

    By default, the sale name is set to the name of the customer tagged to the sale.
    If no customer is selected, the name defaults to Walk-in or the name of the table where the order was started, plus the current time.

    Click to Enlarge
  5. Tap ‘Save’ to confirm.

    Kitchen tickets automatically print for items assigned to a ticket printer and can be reprinted if needed.

If you have questions about saving or managing saved sales, visit our Register FAQ. Having problems? Visit our troubleshooting guide for help.

View Saved Sales

The Saved Sales screen displays all sales currently saved on the register. By default, saved sales do not sync from one register to another register unless Serverless Sync™ is enabled.

*Saved sales can be viewed only at the register and are not available in BackOffice.

  1. Open the Main Menu and tap ‘Saved Sales’.

    Don’t see ‘Saved Sales’? Tap ‘Checks’.

  2. (Optional) Tap ‘All’ or ‘Mine’ to filter the Saved Sales screen.

    All | Displays all sales saved on the register.
    Mine | Shows only sales saved by the employee who is signed in.

    Click to Enlarge

    From top to bottom: employee assigned to the sale, sale total, duration, sale name, number of guests, order status, and order number.

  3. (Optional) Tap a view option to sort saved sales in ascending or descending order.
    Click to Enlarge

    Time Elapsed | Order sales by when they were saved at the register or received via Online Ordering.
    Check Name | Order sales alphabetically by name. Online orders all begin with and are organized by the letter ‘O’.
    Order Number | Order sales by order number.

  4. Tap a sale to view, modify, or close it out.
    Click to Enlarge

Having trouble viewing saved sales? Visit our troubleshooting guide for help.

Modify a Saved Sale

Once a sale is saved, there are a few ways to modify it. You can add additional items, change the number of guests, void canceled items, or give the sale a new name.

Existing items on a saved sale cannot be modified. This includes changing the modifiers or variants selected and adjusting the item quantity.

Add Items

When a customer orders more, follow the steps below to add items to their saved sale and save the changes.

  1. Select a sale on the Saved Sales screen.
    Click to Enlarge
  2. Add items to the sale.
    Click to Enlarge
  3. Tap the disk icon to save changes.

    Don’t see the disk icon? Tap ‘Save’.
    Kitchen tickets automatically print for new items that are assigned to a ticket printer and can be reprinted if needed.

    Click to Enlarge

    After saving the sale, the Saved Sales screen updates with the new total.

Update the Guest Count

Change the number of guests associated with a saved sale.

  1. Select a sale from the Saved Sales screen.
    Click to Enlarge
  2. Tap the Guests icon to update the number of guests.
    Click to Enlarge
  3. Enter the number of guests and tap 'Done'.

Void

If an order is cancelled, perform a void to discard all or part of a saved sale without payment. Depending on your BackOffice Employee Settings, voids may require manager approval if performed by a cashier.

  • Voids are final once performed. If you void a sale or item by mistake, you must ring it back up again.
  • Use void reporting to track the quantity and value of items voided at the register.
    1. Select a sale on the Saved Sales screen.
      Click to Enlarge
    2. To void a line item, swipe left across the item and tap ‘Void’.
      Click to Enlarge
    3. To void the entire sale, tap the trash can icon, then ‘Void’ to confirm.

      Don’t see the trash can icon? Tap ‘Void’.

      Click to Enlarge
    4. (Optional) If prompted, enter a manager code and tap ‘Void’ to authorize the void.

      This is only required if manager verification is enabled and a cashier attempts the void.

      Click to Enlarge

    A void ticket prints for items assigned to a ticket printer to let staff know not to make those items.

    Rename

    Maybe a customer changes tables or a cashier misspells their name. Whatever the case, you can rename Saved Sales directly from the Sale screen.

    1. Select a sale on the Saved Sales screen.
      Click to Enlarge
    2. Tap the sale name.
      Click to Enlarge
    3. Enter a new name and tap ‘Save’.

    Need to split or merge saved sales? Visit the Split, Merge, & Transfer support article to learn about more ways to modify saved sales.

    Close a Saved Sale

    Once a customer finishes ordering, close out their saved sale to process its payment and remove it from the Saved Sales screen.

    1. Tap a sale on the Saved Sales screen.

      If a sale’s status is ‘Awaiting Tip’, the customer’s credit card was already authorized, but a tip was not entered. Visit the Tip Later article to learn how to enter the tip to close the sale.

      Click to Enlarge
    2. Select the customer's payment tender.

      If you need help processing the payment, visit our Running Sales at the Register article.

      Click to Enlarge
    3. Select a receipt option and tap ‘Done’ or tap 'No Receipt'.

    If you have issues closing a saved sale, visit our troubleshooting guide for help.

    Saved Sale Reporting

    Run a Shift Report during an open shift to view the number and value of sales currently saved on the Saved Sales screen.

    Saved sales are available in the Register Shift Report on the ShopKeep Register on The Mini and The Station and on the ShopKeep Register for iOS v3.0.0 and above. For help updating the app, visit our Introduction to the iPad article.

    1. During an open shift, open the Main Menu and tap ‘Register Shift Report’.

      Don’t see ‘Register Shift Report’? Tap ‘Shift Report’.

    2. Scroll down to view information about the sales currently saved on the Saved Sales screen.

      Managers can view details of all employees’ saved sales, but cashiers can only see details of their own.

      Click to Enlarge

      Open Checks | Number of sales currently saved on the Saved Sales screen. If Serverless Sync™ is enabled, sales from all connected registers are included. This changes to 0 after the shift is closed, even if sales are still saved.
      Open Checks Total | Current value of all ‘Open Checks’ based on the prices of each sale’s items, discounts applied, and sales tax. This changes to 0 after the shift is closed, even if sales are still saved.

    3. (Optional) Managers can tap 'All Employees' and select an employee to see their individual report.
      Click to Enlarge
    4. (Optional) Tap ‘Print X Report’ to print a copy to a connected receipt printer.

      Receiving an error while printing? Visit one of our printer troubleshooting guides for help.

      Click to Enlarge

      To learn about the other information included on the Shift Report, visit our X and Z Reports article.


    • Help us improve ShopKeep Support. Was this article helpful?
    • YES   NO